248.978.1767

 
 
 
 

The Cost of Drinking & Driving

In addition to the fees and penalties outlined below, with the addition of attorney fees, it may cost anywhere from $10,000 to $20,000 for each infraction.

Michigan Drunk Driving Fines & Penalties

First Offense OWI, UBAL, OWVI or OUID penalties include the following:
 
 

For OWI, UBAL, or OUID:

  1. Up to 93 days in jail
  2. 6 months Suspended License: 1st 30 days no driving at all, remaining 5 months Restricted Driving allowed.
  3. Up to $500 in fines, plus costs
  4. Up to 180 hours of Community Service
  5. 6 Points on your Driving Record
  6. $1000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years

     For High BAC (.17 and above) OWI cases with an Arrest date after

10-31-2010:

  1. Up to 180 days in jail (increased from 93 days)
  2. Fine of $200 but not more than $700 (increased from $100 but not more than $500)
  3. One year license suspension with restrictions permitted after 45 days (increased from six-month license suspension with restrictions permitted after 30 days)
  4. Up to 360 hours community service (same)
  5. Cost of prosecution (same)
  6. Immobilization not exceeding 180 days allowed (same)
  7. 6 points on the driving record (same)
  8. Mandatory alcohol treatment program or self-help program for a period of not less than one year.
  9. Motorists who wish to drive after the 45-day license suspension may do so only after a breath alcohol ignition interlock device is installed on their vehicle for the remained of the 1 year suspended/restricted period.

     For OWVI (Impaired Driving):

  1. Up to 93 days in jail
  2. 90 days Restricted Driving (180 days if Impaired by Drugs)
  3. Up to $300 in fines, plus costs
  4. Up to 360 hours of Community Service
  5. 4 Points on your Driving Record
  6. $500 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years
   
Second Offense OWI, UBAL, or OUID:
   
 
  1. 5 days to 1 year in jail, or
  2. 30 to 90 days Community Service, and
  3. 1 year Revoked License (no driving at all, no license available)
  4. $200 to $1000 fine, plus costs
  5. License Plate Confiscation
  6. Vehicle Immobilization from 90 to 189 days, unless vehicle is forfeited
  7. Possible Vehicle Forfeiture
  8. 6 Points on your Driving Record
  9. $1000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years

     For OWVI (Impaired Driving - 2nd Offense), all of the above, except:

  1. 4 Points (not 6) on your Driving Record
  2. $500 (not $1000) Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years.
   
Third Offense OWI, UBAL, or OUID:
   
 
  1. 1 to 5 years in the State Prison, or
  2. 30 days to 1 year in the County Jail followed by Probation
  3. 5 years Revoked License (no driving at all, no license available)
  4. $500 to $5000 fine, plus costs
  5. 60 to 180 days Community Service
  6. License Plate Confiscation
  7. Vehicle Immobilization 1 to 3 years unless vehicle is forfeited
  8. Possible Vehicle Forfeiture
  9. Registration Denial
  10. 6 Points on your Driving Record
  11. $1000 Driver Responsibility for 2 years

     For OWVI (Impaired Driving - 3rd Offense) all of the above, except:

  1. 4 Points (not 6) on your Driving Record
  2. $500 (not $1000) Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years


What Is the Michigan Super Drunk Law?

The Michigan Super Drunk law applies to drivers with no prior OUI convictions within the past seven years who operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of .17% or higher. Drivers with a prior conviction within seven years face enhanced penalties, even more harsh then those for a typical Super Drunk conviction. 


 

 

 

7 days a week 5pm - 3am

 

 

 
 
   
     
 
       
             
 
     
  Home
About
Services
FAQ's
Testimonials
Contact Us
Gift Card / Cert
 
www.designateddriverservices.biz
 
Site By: PIXELBIT